Link Love: The Best of St. Pat’s 2013

SI do like a good toast, so on this national day of toasting to the Irish in us all I offer a trip around the blogosphere for some of the best of St. Patrick’s Day.

For Fun

The fun and fabulous Susie Lindau dances an Irish Jig and offers up some toasts for us to try.

Celebrating the Emerald Isle from space! Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield honors St. Patrick from the international space station by singing Danny Boy (not bad!) and wearin’ the green.

If you have green eyes (and I DO), you may be Irish, or female, or both. Laura Dimon offers up the statistics on what makes green eyes so unusual. Plus, the most famous green-eyed lass in literature. Any guesses?

For Food

The how-to video in Irish Soda Bread, the American Way is a mini-visual spectacle. If you replay that bit where she slathers the Irish butter and it melts a little, you can actually smell the warm bread spiced with caraway seeds and currants. I want to invite Melissa Clark to my house to make these buns for me. Like, right now. Yum.

The full St. Patrick’s Day traditional meal explained by Rachel Allen on the WSJ Speakeasy blog. In the category of “I’ll bet you didn’t know that”: her explanation of how Irish coffee was invented.

For the foodies out there an Irish food paradise on Wise Words, the oeuvre of Irish food blogger Mona Wise and her chef husband (winner of Blog Awards Ireland‘s Best Blog for 2012).

For Travel

Our Amazing Planet’s post A Photo Tour of Ireland not only captures images of the Emerald Isle and its people, it presents the history and traditions of the Irish in the photo captions.

My own discovery of Blarney Castle from 2012’s St. Paddy’s Day post, including some blarney from Winston Churchill and my mom.

Lastly, a celebration of St. Patrick’s Day would not be complete for me without my favorite Irish pub song, “The Wild Rover,” sung here by The Dubliners:

Slainte! Happy Saint Patrick’s Day, Everyone! Beannachtaí na Féile Pádraig!

9 thoughts on “Link Love: The Best of St. Pat’s 2013

  1. WiseMona says:

    Thanks for the Love Link!
    Winding down over here after all the festivities!

    • Kecia Adams says:

      You bet! We’re just sitting down for our own celebration meal. Not really Irish though, we’re having waffles. 🙂 Really enjoyed the fantastic photos on your blog. Thanks!

  2. And a toast to you too! This morning my sons, my mom and I went out for brunch and encountered the most amazing leprechaun you’ve ever seen. He was dressed all in green, with a little, sparkly green hat. Checking out his considerable girth, my mom commented, “I think he might have trouble hiding under a shamrock.” 🙂

    (I really enjoyed Susie’s little jig, too!)

    Happy St Patrick’s day!

    • Kecia Adams says:

      LOL! Well leprechauns ARE magic, you know. 😉 My daughter always ran from characters like that, even at Disney. It was a real problem when one of her friends had a “Barney” birthday party. She was inconsolable! Can’t imagine what she would have done around a chubby, sparkly green guy.

  3. susielindau says:

    Thank you so much for the linkage Kecia!
    Have a wonderful Saint Patty’s Day!

  4. journalpulp says:

    This year for St. Patrick’s Day, I worked (and worked). I also worked the Friday and Saturday before, which is when the real celebration took place. I can honestly tell you, Ms. Adams, that by the end of it all, I was bleeding Bushmills, I was sweating Shamrocks (a kind of cocktail), I was beating my Red Breast, weeping green tears of joy.

    • Kecia Adams says:

      Well, I hope at least the tips were good! Working a three-day drinking weekend has got to be insane. They were tears of joy that it was over, right?

      • journalpulp says:

        “They were tears of joy that it was over, right?”

        Yes, yes: green tears of joy and relief. I should have clarified. Thank you. Keep me in line, would you?

Leave a Reply

