Smelling the Roses

The Dog–Rhys–and I try to go for a walk once a day around the neighborhood loop. I find it calms me down and resets me for the afternoon when my girls come home from school. He likes to walk more than once a day (or so he tells me), so we sometimes do a quickie early morning sniff on the short loop if it’s not raining–I call it one and a half times. He calls it, “reading the morning news.” I love that we always go the same way, but that he stops and sniffs (and pees–he is a dog) in different places every time.

I also love that the neighborhood changes its look day to day and week to week. Compensation for living in suburban paradise, I imagine. This time of year spring brings startling color. Azaleas last week, and this week, the early roses. Even the light varies as rain storms come and go, and clouds form and part for sunny skies.

Here’s Rhys stopping to smell the roses (or quite possibly my hand). And here he is raising an eyebrow at my staging of the picture but gamely playing along.

So does your pet think you’re crazy too? Do you take walks? What do you love about your neighborhood?

10 thoughts on “Smelling the Roses

  1. Dogs are endlessly fascinating. I’m sure mine wonders about my sanity level regularly, too. πŸ˜‰ Beautiful photos & post!

  2. Karen McFarland says:

    Now you make me miss having a dogie Kecia! It is kinda the cool thing about having a dog. Taking them for walks. And the fact that you don’t have to walk alone. Then you get out of doors, take in all the wonderful things about spring. Thanks for sharing your experience with us! πŸ™‚

    • Kecia Adams says:

      Hi, Karen! It’s funny, here only 4 days later, the landscape looks totally different. Roses are starting to fade, the air is warmer, and the greens are darker. Thanks for your comment.

  3. Debra Kristi says:

    I no longer have a dog or cat to think I’m crazy or not. But the other day my kid said to me, “Mom, I love you but sometimes you’re creepy.” LOL. He said that after I told the family about a dream I’d had. Ha! I do love my neighborhood. It’s a great neighborhood and I see my other neighbors walk their dogs often. At this time of year I really love seeing all the flowers in bloom. Like your picture. πŸ™‚

  4. Kecia Adams says:

    LOL! At least he said he loved you first! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by, Debra.

  5. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Lovely photos. πŸ™‚
    Yes we have a dog, and we have a lovely park not far from home, that we take for a walk in every day, it is great when you have somewhere nice to walk around. πŸ™‚
    Thank You very much for the visit over at my blog.

  6. Nifti says:

    You’ve got a beautiful blog. I live in the city, I like that… but not too many roses smell πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

