Lucky 7 Writing Share! Yipes.

Tagged with the Lucky 7 meme (what is a meme, exactly?), by Myndi Shafer AND Emma Burcart, I scrolled through the WIP, only to find out I don’t actually have a page 77–haven’t progressed past page 56. So below you will find 7 paragraphs from page 14, multiples of 7 still count, right? I have really enjoyed the snippets of people’s works-in-progress. Now to tag some other writers…

Here are the rules.

1. Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs, and post them as they’re written.
4. Tag 7 authors, and let them know.

Here’s my bit from the WIP I have titled TAYLOR’S BARGAIN:

“So, what do I have to do with your bride-to-be dumping you? You said this wasn’t just a catch up on old times session.” She fiddled with her silverware, lining it up precisely with the bottom of the bread plate.

“I have a…ah…proposal to make.” He took a small sip of water, and she noticed his long, strong fingers.

Her gaze snapped to Alex’s face. “To me?”

“Yes. Taylor, will you marry me?”

Her foolish, foolish heart skipped its next beat, and its next. The racket in the restaurant fell away, and it was just the two of them in a cone of utter silence, where she could hear the thump thump of her heart beat. “Marry you?”

“Well, really it’s just an engagement. Or a fake engagement actually. I need a fiancee to hook this big investor I’ve been scouting for weeks. He’s very conservative and he’d expressed his pleasure that I was getting married soon.”

Her fists clenched in her lap. “Well, I don’t think it’s going to make your case when you show up with another bride entirely.”

Tagging seven more authors to share (sorry if you’ve already been tagged, you can share twice!). Come on, you know you want to… 🙂

Susie Lindau

The Journal Pulp

Shannyn Schroeder

Jillian Dodd

Louise Behiel

Ted Strutz

Pat O’Dea Rosen

Let’s see ’em, writers! Don’t be shy now.

8 thoughts on “Lucky 7 Writing Share! Yipes.

  1. Oh, I love the excerpt! Nice job!

  2. Nice job on the excerpt. can’t wait to read the book

  3. journalpulp says:

    “in a cone of utter silence”

    Oh, I like that.

    Thank you for thinking of me, Kecia. I might just be willing to give this a spin — though I’m afraid at the moment I’m indisposed.

  4. Kecia Adams says:

    Thanks, everyone! This was actually pretty fun. And I didn’t even have to cheat–this scene really was on page 14. Now to get the rest written!

Leave a Reply

