On Goals, Dreams, and Meryl Streep

I have always been fascinated by Meryl Streep because she is the celebrity I probably resemble the closest, right? Here are Meryl and me in our younger days…

Uncanny, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰ And thank you to all the friends and aquaintances over the years who have pointed out the resemblance to me. Brownie points to you all!
Ms. Streep’s latest oeuvre is the bio pic of Margaret Thatcher. The Iron Lady. A woman with big ambitions and the iron will to carry them out.

So how are Meryl and Margaret and Me related (other than a slight resemblance)? Well, here’s my point: I have seen some of my fellow bloggers’ fantastic goals for 2012, but frankly, resolution making and goal setting in the New Year give me a rash. I do believe in a vague notion of writing down goals because how will you know if you’ve accomplished what you set out to do if you don’t write it down first? One’s perception changes so much as time moves along, and it is always interesting to see what your intentions were compared to your results, but I truly balk at writing down specific tasks to get from here, at the beginning of 2012, to there, which is wherever I want to be next year at this time. Maybe that’s not productive of me, but there it is.

I love this quote from the recent Vogue interview with Meryl Streep:

β€œWith any character I play, where she is me is where I meet her. It’s very easy to set people at arm’s length and judge them. Yes, you can judge the policies and the actions and the shortcomingsβ€”but to live inside that body is another thing entirely. And it’s humbling on a certain level and infuriating, just like it is to live in your own body. Because you recognize your own failings, and I have no doubt that she recognized hers.”

So in the interest of recognizing my failings (reluctance to write down goals) and inspired by these two great ladies, Meryl and Margaret, I am publishing a list of wants this year. Wants that in some way resemble goals.Β To get the ball rolling for me I admit to a little AhHA! moment reading Kristen Lamb’s blog post yesterday when she asked the question, what kind of writer do you want to be? And this post What’s Your Dream? from Ingrid Schaffenburg’s blog Threadbare Gypsy Soul inspired me too.

So, my wants:
I want to be the kind of writer who touches people with her words, in my blog, in my books. I want to support causes I believe in, like the National Womens History Museum that Meryl Streep has put her name to. I want to give the world to my daughters. I want to feel strong physically and stimulated mentally. I want to get quiet every so often, because it’s OK to do that, and it’s my nature.

And that’s all for now. Do those things qualify as goals? Yes? Maybe? At least it’s a place to start.

And what about you? Do you balk at goal setting and need to trick yourself into it? Who inspires you? Who do you want to play YOU in the movie version of your life? Why?

20 thoughts on “On Goals, Dreams, and Meryl Streep

  1. Sherry says:

    Love this! Keep writing Kecia πŸ™‚ I have a feeling this is going to be a very fruitful year for you!

  2. Beautiful post Kecia! Those are very strong goals πŸ™‚

  3. Kecia, what a great list of wants.I especially love the one about giving the world to your daughters. It is, perhaps, the most worthwhile goal I’ve read this year. Thank you for an inspring post!

    • Kecia Adams says:

      Thanks, Sheila! It was very cathartic to write this. I felt all this pressure to post goals, couldn’t come up with them, was getting hives, and then I was inspired… It seems to work like that for me. πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Kecia. My blog post this week was on the Metamorphosis of New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t make them because I always forget them and don’t fulfill them. So, I made a life choice – to think positively and to turn my negative thoughts into positive ones. And it’s not a resolution. It’s something that I want to incorporate into my life forever, not just for 2012. I enjoyed your post very much.

  5. Hi, Kecia,
    I identify with your reluctance to write goals and hope you hit all your wants. Yours aren’t the kind one achieves in a year’s time and can cross off the list, so you’re looking at a life’s work. I’d call that awfully productive of you.

    • Kecia Adams says:

      Thanks, Pat! πŸ™‚ It sort of just came to me as I was writing. I try so hard to structure my life, but I find very often that the reason I procrastinate on things is that I’m rebelling against the structure. Hmm…

  6. Fantastic post, Kecia. I’ve admired Meryl Streep for as long as I can remember. And you do bare a striking resemblance! πŸ˜‰ Best of luck with your worthy wants.

  7. Kecia Adams says:

    Thanks for reading, August. Love your name, BTW. August is my favorite month. No holidays, just summer.

  8. Fabio Bueno says:

    Congrats on your goals, Kecia! Your list definitely qualify as worthy goals. I connected with your first one, and I couldn’t have put it better.
    I am a Meryl Streep fan; I even have a planned post about her, but it goes in a different direction.
    Love your blog’s logline, BTW.

    • Kecia Adams says:

      Thanks, Fabio. πŸ™‚ Love typing that name. The more I find out about Meryl Streep, the more I like her–or rather, I like the face she shows the world. We always think we KNOW celebrities. Must be an odd feeling for them. Thanks again for reading.

  9. Great list of wants πŸ™‚ I’m a goal-setter and list-maker by nature. Part of the excitement and joy for me come in the planning. (I know–my husband thinks it’s odd too.) I find I’m more productive when I have goals laid out too. And like you said, how will I know if I’ve achieved anything if I don’t know what I was trying to achieve πŸ™‚

    P.S. I love you logline!

  10. Debra Kristi says:

    Lovely Kecia! Like Marcy, I am also a goal-setter and list-maker. But I have been slipping a little in that area lately and been trying to keep track of them in my head. Doesn’t work as well that way. LOL

    I have something for you. I awarded you the Liebster award today! http://wp.me/p1QtlR-pp

  11. Hi Meryl, I mean Kecia! (LOL) Silly me. πŸ™‚

    Ooh, congrats on the Liebster award girl! You deserve it!

    What lovely writing! And I agree, making goals gives me a rash too.

    I know, I know, I just joined ROW80 and I’m posting once a week, not twice a week, thank you very much. Now this might sound like a contradiction. But I decided that I must push past this fear of failure and push myself out there. I freak out when I post anything on my site. It’s awful. So I understand your fears.

    Now I want to apologize to you for not getting by to see you lately. My husband is getting ready for surgery and I’ve had my hands full with class, (crazy) and I’ve neglected you. You’re doing a fabulous job on your post.

    And you’ve encouraged me so much today! Keep it up girl! See ya soon! πŸ™‚

  12. suzannesan says:

    Uncanny! I was told I looked like Elizabeth Montgomery. I thought she was beautiful and I never considered myself, beautiful. Keep writing and congratulations on your first book. I can’t wait to get my “yes” letter πŸ™‚

    Suzannesan
    http://suzannehill1978.com

Leave a Reply

